CHW Announces Randy Olney as 2024 President of ASCE Florida Chapter

Pursuing the advancement of personal knowledge, education, and skill in Civil Engineering to promote public welfare in Florida and beyond.

GAINESVILLE, FL, November 29, 2023 – CHW Professional Consultants, a leading ecological, planning, surveying, engineering, landscape architecture, and construction services firm, is excited to announce CHW Director of Engineering for Land Development services, Randy Olney, PE, as the 2024 American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Gainesville Chapter President.

Randy brings over 19 years of experience in many realms of civil engineering, including stormwater analysis, design, and modeling, as well as site design, utility design, and site permitting. He has also served as Public Works Director for Citrus County, providing management and administration for six divisions within the County. Randy is well versed in working with Environmental and Regulatory Permitting agencies such as the Florida Department of Transportation, Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FDEP), Florida’s Water Management Districts, and the Army Corps of Engineers.
Randy Olney, PE

“I’m looking forward to gaining a firsthand perspective into the ASCE’s operations, and hope to enhance the Society’s presence in the greater North Florida region. As a leading industry advocate and steward of ethics in the profession, the ASCE is an important voice in civil engineering that I am proud to be a part of.” — Randy Olney, PE

In his role with the ASCE, Randy will work with local branch members as well as the statewide Florida Section Board of Directors to support organizational efforts and provide industry leadership.

ASCE Florida is one of the largest chapters in the United States, containing thirteen branches, eighteen technical institute chapters and groups, eleven student chapters, and over 7,000 members in total. The Gainesville branch represents twelve counties in the greater North Florida region, including Hamilton, Columbia, Suwanee, Lafayette, Dixie, Gilchrist, Union, Bradford, Alachua, Putnam, Levy, and Marion. Once elected, chapter presidents serve a two-year term as President and Past President.